spon·ta·ne·i·ty (insert definition here).

Whew, what a week.
I’ve been pondering something my best girlfriend asked me a few weeks ago, and trying to figure out my own answer to this question. No. Scratch that. Not an answer. A remedy. A solution. A friend of mine used to always say “Be a solutionist, not a problemist!” HA! Sometimes it’s easier said than done. Routine sucks. Boredom is exhausting. Agreed?
I got a text from said best friend a few weeks ago, and she asked me “Heather…Do you ever feel like you’re in that movie “Groundhog day?” Where you’re literally stuck in the same routine, doing the same thing, living the same day, over and over again?” I wanted to hike my happy butt to the nearest mountain, (which is something I would never do), climb it (which is also something I would never do) and scream from it’s highest peak “YASSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!” Every. Dang. day. Since basically the beginning of my adult life, It’s been sleep, eat, work, school, eat, sleep, repeat. Since having my daughter, it’s constantly going, non-stop, but It’s still constantly doing the same things, just a different set of the same things, over and over. Daily life for me sometimes feels like a chore, and I just can’t wait for it to be over and for the chance to crawl into bed and have 15 min of doing whatever I want to do without having a deadline, a commitment, or someone telling me what to do and when. So what if I want to handstands and eat ice cream upside down? Those 15 minutes at the end of my day (before I fall into a sleep the dead can’t rival) are MINE! I’LL DO WHAT I WANT!
Then I realized how sucky that attitude was. Life shouldn’t be a chore, routine or not. I need a reset. I need to start appreciating the little things on a daily basis, and maybe it wouldn’t seem so mundane. But how do I do that? How do I break up the monotony of being an adult? What’s a girl got to do to get a little excitement? How do I find the joy in (and stop sweating) the small stuff? HELP!
Let’s talk about this.
Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

